Health Care Aid Grant — Assistance up to the
lifetime maximum of $7,500 may be provided to
qualified eligible applicants for dental care, vision
care and hearing care. Approved applicants receive a
Description of Benefits (DOB) that lists approved
care and the dates of coverage. The applicant gives
the DOB to the health care provider that he or she
chooses. The health care provider bills WDVA and
we pay the provider directly.

Professional/Occupational Licensure
www. WisVets.com/Ben-POLicensure.asp

Professional/Occupational Licensure Fee Waiver

Program — Allows for one initial license fee waiver
per qualified veteran. The waiver is not allowed for

renewals; it is for one initial license only.

Wisconsin Act 209, signed into law on April 4, 2012
and effective July 1,2012, created a program which
requires that the Wisconsin Department of Veterans
Affairs (WDVA) establish and maintain a program
under which 13 State Agencies will grant fee waivers
to qualified veterans when issuing initial licenses.
Under the Veterans Professional/Occupational
Licensure Fee Waiver Program, there will be only one
initial license fee waiver allowed per applicant.

Professional/Occupational Licensure Military
Training Equivalency — Relates to applying a service
member’s military training towards satisfying the
training for various professional licenses.

2011 Wisconsin Act 120 addresses applying a
service member’s military training toward satisfying
the training requirements for various professional or
occupational licenses. The applicant must
demonstrate to the satisfaction of the credentialing
agency or board that oversees a particular license
that the instruction obtained by the applicant is
substantially equivalent to the instruction required
for the initial credential.

Professional/Occupational Licensure Reciprocity —
Allows for reciprocal credentials for the spouses of
service members whose duty stations (while on
active duty) are assigned to Wisconsin.

2011 Wisconsin Act 210, Section 10, allows for
reciprocal credentials for the spouses of service
members whose duty stations (while on active duty)
are assigned to Wisconsin. A reciprocal credential
granted under this law expires 180 days after the date
the licensing agency or credentialing board issues
the reciprocal credential unless, upon application by
the holder of the reciprocal credential, the licensing
agency or credentialing board extends the reciprocal
credential.

Professional/Occupational Licensure Renewal—
Relates to professional or occupational licensure
renewal requirements for active duty service
members and their spouses.

2011 Wisconsin Act 210 addresses professional or
occupational licensure renewals for Wisconsin
service members that enter active duty and their
spouses. Act 210 provides that: Any license that a
service member holds (expiring after September 11,
2001), except a license to practice law, does not expire
on the expiration date of the license if, on the
expiration date, the service member is on active duty.
— AND — Any license that the spouse of a service
member holds (expiring after September 11,2001),
except a license to practice law, does not expire on
the expiration date of the license if the service
member is on active duty on the expiration date of the
spouse’s license and the spouse does not practice
under the license while the service member is on
active duty because the service member is on active
duty.

Veteran Identifier on Wisconsin Driver's License
or State ID (Verify — Then Apply)
www. WisVets.com/Ben-Plates.asp#V

To be eligible for the Veteran Identifier on your
Wisconsin driver’s license or ID card you must meet
certain requirements related to your term and
characterization of military service.

Character of Service: The Character of Service field
on your DD214/DD215 must show, Honorable,
General under honorable conditions, or Honorable
under General. (Other than Honorable conditions will
not allow you to certify through this process.)

Length of Service: You must have at least one period
of service that encompassed at least two continuous
years of “active duty” or 90 days of “active duty”
during a Statutorily-Designated Wartime Period,
where the character of service meets the requirements
above.

All applicants must first Verify eligibility for the
benefit through the Wisconsin Department of Veterans
Affairs — Then Apply for the identifier with the
Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Division of
Motor Vehicles.

Eligibility
www. WisVets.com/Eligibility

To obtain benefits and services from the Wisconsin
Department of Veterans Affairs (WDVA), veterans
must meet military service requirements and state
residency requirements set by the State Legislature.

Benefits and Services

Troops to Teachers

Retraining Grant

Homeless Veterans Assistance
Wisconsin Veterans Homes
Wisconsin Veterans Property Tax Credit
Federal Claims Assistance
Wisconsin Veterans Cemeteries
Military Funeral Honors

Wisconsin GI Bill

VetEd Reimbursement Grant
Assistance to Needy Veterans Grants
Professional/Occupational Licensure
Veteran Identifier

Disclaimer: When administering or determining eligibility for
benefits, the WDVA does not discriminate against persons, or
harass them, because of their race, creed, color, national origin
or ancestry, age, disability, gender, sexual orientation, political
affiliation or beliefs, or arrest or conviction record. The WDVA
is an Equal Opportunity Lender and a Fair housing Lender.

Questions? Call 1-800-WIS-VETS (947-8387)
or visitwww. WisVets.com.
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For more information about state benefits, contact
the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs
(WDVA) Veterans Benefits Resource Center (VBRC)
at 1-800-WIS-VETS (947-8387), or visit
www. WisVets.com, or contact your County Veterans
Service Office www.wicvso.org/your cvso.htm



Troops to Teachers
www.montana.edu/ttt  Toll-free: 1-866-478-3224

Troops to Teachers provides information, advice and
funding to assist eligible veterans, retirees, members
of the Reserve and National Guard, and active duty
personnel who are about to leave military service and
pursue teaching as a second career.

Retraining Grant
www. WisVets.com/RetrainingGrants

Recently unemployed or underemployed veterans
may receive up to $3,000 per 12-month period ($6,000
lifetime max) if they have a financial need while being
retrained for employment. WDV A must receive a
grant application within one year after an applicant is
involuntarily laid off or discharged. An applicant
must be employed for at least six consecutive months
with the same employer or in the same or similar
occupation, and at least one day of that employment
must have been within that year. Eligible programs
include on-the-job training and technical education.

Homeless Veterans Assistance
www. WisVets.com/Homeless Veterans

Veterans who are homeless or at risk of becoming
homeless can receive assistance to obtain steady
jobs and affordable housing. The program provides
for clean, safe and secure housing at Veterans
Assistance Centers around the state along with job
training, education, counseling, medical care and
other services.

Wisconsin Veterans Homes
www. WisVets.com/Homes

Veterans and spouses may receive long-term care
at Veterans Homes located in King (Waupaca
County), Union Grove (Racine County) and
Chippewa Falls (Chippewa County). The King
location provides skilled nursing and some
domiciliary care. The Union Grove location provides
arange of services from assisted living to skilled
nursing. Veterans and spouses must apply income
and assets to the cost of their care. A portion of the
veteran’s cost is typically offset by the VA.

Wisconsin Veterans Property Tax Credit
www. WisVets.com/Taxes

The Wisconsin Veterans and Surviving Spouses
Property Tax Credit provides a refundable property
tax credit for the veteran’s primary in-state residence
on the state income tax form. Veteran must have a
Service Connected Disability (SCD) rating from the
Federal VA 0f 100% or 100% with Individual
Unemployability (IU)underUSC38 1114 or 1134.

Federal Claims Assistance
www. WisVets.com/Claims

The WDVA Claims Bureau advises and assists
veterans and their dependents in obtaining federal
veterans benefits from the VA. The service is free to
Wisconsin veterans and their families. Make an

appointment through your County Veterans Service
Officeorcall (414)902-5757.

Wisconsin Veterans Cemeteries
www. WisVets.com/Cemeteries

Veterans, spouses, surviving spouses and eligible
family members may be buried at Wisconsin
Veterans Cemeteries located near Union Grove
(Racine County), Spooner (Washburn County), and
the Wisconsin Veterans Home at King (Waupaca
County). A fee is assessed for spouses and family
members at the time of interment. Veterans can
establish eligibility and pre-register by contacting
one of the cemeteries or your County Veterans
Service Office.

Military Funeral Honors
www. WisVets.com/FuneralHonors

The Military Funeral Honors Program provides and
coordinates funeral honors for veterans and former
National Guard and reservists. Honors may include
the presence of military members, folding and
presentation of the flag, firing details and the
sounding of Taps. Arrangements can be made
through funeral directors or by calling 1-877-944-
6667.

Wisconsin GI Bill
www. WisVets.com/WisGIBill

Eligible veterans and dependents may receive a
waiver (“remission’) of tuition and fees for up to 8
semesters or 128 credits at any UW or Wisconsin
Technical College for undergraduate or graduate
level study. A recipient must be a state resident for
tuition purposes. If eligible, the veteran, spouse and
children all will receive the same benefit.

Veterans — The veteran must be a Wisconsin
resident when entering active duty, or as being a
resident of this state for at least five consecutive
years immediately preceding the beginning of any
semester or session for which the person registers
at an institution. They must have served under
honorable conditions and meet specific active duty
requirements. This expansion does not include the
spouses or children of these veterans.

Spouses — Qualifying spouses must be residents for
tuition purposes. A spouse no longer has to use the
benefit within ten years following the date of the U.S.
Department of Veterans Affairs' initial disability rating
determination of 30% of more. An unremarried
surviving spouse is eligible for ten years following
the veteran’s death or commencing with the date
their youngest child reaches (or would have reached)
age 18, whichever is later.

Beginning in January 2014, any student using the
Wisconsin GI Bill, whether it be the veteran, the
spopuse or the child of a veteran, must maintain at
least a 2.0 cumulative GPA or higher in order to
remain eligible for the Wisconsin GI Bill benefits.

Children — When the qualifying Wisconsin veteran
is currently rated by the VA with a combined service-
connected disability rating of 30% or more, or died in
the line of duty while on active, Reserve or National
Guard duty, or died as the direct result of a service-
connected disability, a 100% remission is provided
for each child between the ages of 17 to age 26.

Note: Spouses and Children of eligible veterans
MUST be Wisconsin residents for tuition purposes
to receive the benefit.

VetEd Reimbursement Grant
www. WisVets.com/VetEd

The Veterans Education (VetEd) Reimbursement
Grant provides tuition and fee reimbursement, based
on the character and duration of active duty, to
eligible veterans who do not hold a bachelor’s
degree. Other eligibility criteria apply, including
family income limits. Veterans must apply within 60
days after the start of the academic term and earn at
leasta 2.0 GPA at a UW school, technical college, or
approved institution of higher learning. You may
receive federal Montgomery GI Bill benefits and
VetEd for the same semester (limitations apply).

Reimbursement is reduced to the extent that tuition
and fees have been paid by other grants,
scholarships and remissions, including the federal
Post 9/11 GI Bill. VetEd cannot be used when also
eligible for the Wisconsin GI Bill.

Assistance to Needy Veterans Grants
www. WisVets.com/ANVG

Applicants who demonstrate financial need and have
exhausted other forms of aid may qualify. Grant
awards for health care and subsistence aid combined
cannot exceed the program’s $7,500 lifetime limit.

Applications for Assistance to Needy Veterans
Grants must be submitted through your local County
Veterans Service Office. There are strict income and
asset limits for this program.

Subsistence Aid Grant—Financial aid may be
provided when there is a loss of income due to
illness, injury or natural disaster. Grants are awarded
for subsistence aid for 30-day periods, up to a
maximum of 90 days. Grant awards cannot exceed
$3,000 during any consecutive 12-month period, or
the $7,500 lifetime limit.





